ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019
ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019

ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019. The ICC World Cup or the ICC men’s cricket is one of the biggest tournaments in cricket. A number of teams participate in the event and billions of people are spectators in the tournament. The ICC International Cricket Council organizes the tournament every four years.

The first edition of the World Cup started in 1975 in England. In the beginning edition of the tournament, England hosted the first two editions. The third edition of the tournament moved to Europe. In 1987, India and Pakistan co-hosted the event. Firstly the tournament is for 60 overs but then it reduced to 50 overs per innings.

In 1992, Australia and New Zealand co-hosted the match. In this tournament, there are a number of changes made as colored clothing. First, they used a red ball for the match and in this edition, a white ball was used. In the next edition in 1996, the tournament was hosted by Sri Lanka with India and Pakistan.


Then the tournament returned back to England for the first time in 2003. The first time the tournament was held in Africa. In 2007 West Indies hosted the event before India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh co-hosted it in 2011. In 2015, New Zealand and Australia co-hosted the tournament.

ICC World Cup winners and runner-up list:

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand
The complete information about the performance of the team is given below. The list is about the teams who have made it to the final of the world cup.
TeamWinnersRunner-upYears WonYears Runner-up
Australia521987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 20151975, 1996
West Indies211975, 19791983
India211983, 20112003
Sri Lanka1219962007, 2011
England1320191979, 1987, 1992
New Zealand022015, 2019

Man of the match in the ICC World Cup Final list:

YearPlayerPerformance Details
1975Clive Lloyd102
1979Viv Richards138*
1983Mohinder Amarnath3/12 and 26
1987David Boon75
1992Wasim Akram33 and 3/49
1996Aravinda de Silva107* and 3/42
1999Shane Warne4/33
2003Ricky Ponting140*
2007Adam Gilchrist149
2011MS Dhoni91*
2015James Faulkner3/36
2019Ben Stokes84* and 0/20

ICC World Cup-Winning Captain List:

The first edition of the World Cup was won by the West Indies. The legend Clive Lloyd lifted the trophy for the first time in 1975. And once again after four years in the second edition West Indies once again won the tournament. Ricky Ponting won the world cup only for one time as captain.

ICC World Cup winning captains list:

1975Clive LloydWest Indies
1979Clive LloydWest Indies
1983Kapil DevIndia
1987Allan BorderAustralia
1992Imran KhanPakistan
1996Arjuna RanatungaSri Lanka
1999Steve WaughAustralia
2003Ricky PontingAustralia
2007Ricky PontingAustralia
2011MS DhoniIndia
2015Michael ClarkeAustralia
2019Eoin MorganEngland

So that’s all about ICC World Cup Winners List From 1975 To 2019. Share it with your fellows so they can check the updates about cricket.

See More: ENG vs. BAN Dream11 Prediction| World Cup Warm-Up Match

See More: NZ vs SA Dream11 Prediction| World Cup Warm-up Match No. 7

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *