7 Teams Qualify for Champions Trophy 2025. After the World Cup 2023, there will be a big event in the cricket world. Champion Trophy 2025 qualified teams have been announced. The World Cup 2023 is going to end soon and the top 7 teams of the World Cup are qualified for the Champion trophy. Pakistan is going to host the Champion Trophy 2025 tournament so Pakistan is in the qualifier. Read the article and find which 7 Teams Qualify for Champions Trophy 2025.

7 Teams Qualify for Champions Trophy 2025:

The qualification scenario for the ICC Champion Trophy 2025 has been announced. The ESPNCricinfo has given new rules for the selection of teams. The team who are in the top 7 positions in the ICC World Cup 2023 points table will qualify for the tournament. The tournament will be hosted by Pakistan. The eight teams will play in the tournament. Seven teams have been selected and the eighth team will be announced later.

7 Teams Qualify for Champions Trophy 2025
7 Teams Qualify for Champions Trophy 2025

The selection of the team depends upon the performance of the teams in the World Cup 2023. Bangladesh and England are on the 9th and 10th as both the teams are not in the top 8th position and have a chance to miss the tournament.

This means that West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland, are not able to qualify for the ICC World Cup 2023. And they will not be a part of the tournament. Some of the teams are not known about the new rules and they are shocked after learning the new rules.

ICC spokesperson confirmed that the selection criteria were approved by the ICC Board in 2021 for the 2025 champions trophy. The tournament was now introduced once again by the governing body. In 2013, and 2017 the eight teams in the ODI ranking qualified for the tournament.

Selected Teams for Champion Trophy:

India, South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and the Netherlands are the teams that qualify for the tournament. Skipper Shakib-ul-Hassan after losing the game mentioned that:

“I mean, not the semi-final hope. It is not a semi-final possibility. At least, do a little better. Suppose, you have to be in the [top] ranking 8 if you want to play in the Champions Trophy. So, there are still three matches left considering that in mind,” he mentioned. 

Champions Trophy Winners list year-wise: From 1998 to 2017: 

YearWinnerRunner-upResultFinal Venue
1998South AfricaWest IndiesSouth Africa won by 4 wicketsBangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka
2000New ZealandIndiaNew Zealand won by 4 wicketsGymkhana Club Ground, Nairobi
2002Sri Lanka & IndiaNoneIndia and Sri Lanka declared joint winnersR. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo
2004West IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 2 wicketsThe Oval, London
2006AustraliaWest IndiesAustralia won by 8 wickets (D/L method)Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai
2009AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 6 wicketsSuperSport Park, Centurion
2013IndiaEnglandIndia won by 5 runsEdgbaston Cricket Ground, Birmingham
2017PakistanIndiaPakistan won by 180 runsThe Oval, London

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *